Okay, while I have not written about Glee yet, most of the people in my life have heard how much this show bothers me.
So, I will start with the things I LIKE about this episode, and then I will go into my DISLIKE rant. Don't read the second half if you don't want to hear it.
Like
Emma took a long-overdue moment of empowerment to stand up to Will in front of others and let him know his actions were not as angelic as he thinks they always are.
He HAS been gallivanting around, having semi-intimate moments with other women and thinking that they are not that big a deal. And he thinks he deserves some credit for not having sex? He MIGHT get credit for that if he had actually told Emma. Instead he pursued and enjoyed attention from other women, patted himself on the back for not letting it get "serious," and kept Emma in the dark about it.
Emma has needed to assume a more powerful position in this relationship, and she finally has. (Although what's all this about her seeking counseling so that she can be with Will? Not for herself?)
I liked the touching moment between Will and Quinn. I'm not such a big fan of the fact the Quinn posted the list, but I like that Will is finally showing some understanding of a member of the Glee team who isn't named "Finn." I also liked that Will gave her some confidence. This might be a push in the right direction for Will. He NEEDS a push in the right direction.
I also liked Mercedes lampshading: "Why does everyone assume I'm angry all the time?" She's been very meta lately. Commenting on the fact that her place in the Glee club (and on the show) is strongly affected by her race.
I don't know if I should give Glee credit for this... maybe they're being sarcastic but there is an easier way: give Mercedes a prominent plot line and more chances to sing. And by prominent plot line I mean one that moves forward almost every episode (like the majority of the white characters' plot lines on the show) rather than giving her "special" episodes and then ignoring her for the next five weeks. Don't just laugh about how you don't give her a spotlight and then say "but we're not racist because we keep mentioning it." Not good enough.
And...I see we have now segued into my dislike section, so here we are:
Dislike
Glee loves to torture Rachel. I don't understand the writers' love-hate relationship with this character. It's like the writers genuinely hate her but have to keep her around because, uhm, she's the MAIN CHARACTER. (Kind of like how Will hates her but has to keep her around because she's the main singer.... parallels?)
Every other character in this episode experiments with their reputation. They all do ridiculous things in an attempt to get acknowledgment from the student body. Will is even encouraging them to attempt to turn around their reputation. But of course when Rachel tries her hand at it, she loses everything. Shocker.
And what does Rachel choose? She decides she wants to look promiscuous. Okay, fine. I can see the logic with the type of celebrity attention in our society lately. But I also think it's kind of a setup for disaster (because the writers hate her).
It's like they make her smart, capable, and talented. But when it comes to personal decisions she's like a horrible human being. (Really, what about Rachel's personality is redeemable? Other than that she's a sympathetic outcast/victim) I think if the writers could create one aspect of her personal life that isn't tinged with selfishness it would make her a more engaging character and a better female lead on the show.
Anyways, Rachel's choice ends in disaster. Her attempt at empowerment pushes away all the men in her life (interesting choice there, Glee).
You can argue that everyone left her because she was being selfish. But I feel like she's ALWAYS selfish. She never really gets a chance to find power in her identity without the writers giving her some fatal flaw that leads to her suffering the consequences. What kind of lesson can anyone take away from that? Your flaws will always get the best of you if you attempt to change the status quo? A girl shouldn't be SO focused on being successful, but instead should really examine the relationships in her life? There's not anything positive going on here.
But, the part that I found the MOST offensive about this, was Will's reaction. As the men on the Glee team ganged up on Rachel and accused her of selfishness in a way that clearly invoked the way she handles her sexual relationships, Will just sat there. He did nothing. And when they all walked out, he just looked at Rachel with a look like, "Well, that's what happens when you pull shit like this."
THAT is not proper behavior for a teacher. He shouldn't have let that abuse happen to her in that setting. She's a fifteen-year-old girl! Her after school activity should be a safe place, not a place for her to stand up in front of everyone and then get yelled at.
Will sticks up for other characters when Rachel is critical of them. But when Rachel is receiving the criticism he just sits back and watches. He is the worst teacher! And I don't get why he totally hates Rachel when she's his only chance to keep Glee club going. And then he's presented as a teacher who's doing the best with all Rachel's "drama" when really he's not appreciating an important member of his team.
Will is my least favorite character. They could take all his plot lines and actions on the show, present them in a less favorable light, and make him the villain. Easily.
His wife fakes a pregnancy and when he finds out, he grabs her roughly and throws her out of the house. He tells his girlfriend to get mental help before they can be together. He then cheats on her while she's seeking mental help. He is constantly showing "annoyed" looks at Rachel when she puts her heart and soul into everything she does for the club. Then he shows Finn favoritism because they are so similar.
And the writers love him and present him like he walks on water. Ugh. I hate Will so much.
1 comment:
Perfected rant. A plus!
Post a Comment